Classification
Concentrations
Accepting Students
Jennifer Cox

Jennifer Cox, Assistant Professor

255-A Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-7908 | jennifer.m.cox@ua.edu

http://jmcox.people.ua.edu/

  • the interplay between psychological assessment and the legal system
  • conceptualization and assessment of psychopathic personality (psychopathy)
  • influence of psychological expert testimony on legal decision making
  • how legal decision makers understand and consider psychopathy evidence during the trial process

Martha R. Crowther, Professor – Family, Internal, & Rural Medicine, CCHS

258-A Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) | mrcrowther@ua.edu

  • mental health & aging
  • health disparities & aging

James Hamilton

James C. Hamilton, Associate Professor

375 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-0189 | jchamilt@ua.edu

http://jchamilt.people.ua.edu/

  • motivational explanations for excessive medical illness behavior
  • dynamics of the victim role
  • social psychology of death attitudes and death acceptance

Michelle Hilgeman, Adjunct Geropsychology professor

N/A | (205) 348- | Michelle.Hilgeman@va.gov

Lauren Kois, Assistant Professor

407A Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-7802 | lekois@ua.edu

– Forensic mental health assessment, particularly competence to stand trial and criminal responsibility 

– Competence restoration programming

– Forensic mental health heeds assessment, program and policy evaluation

 

Pat Parmelee

Patricia A. Parmelee, Professor and Director of Alabama Research Institute on Aging

207 Osband Hall | (205) 348-1499 | pparmelee@ua.edu

http://aria.ua.edu/patricia-parmelee/

  • the interrelations of physical and mental health
  • quality of long-term care, and particularly staffing issues in residential care settings
  • interventions to support family caregivers

Sarah Ryan, Clinical Assistant Professor, UA-ACTS Program Director, Administrative Director of Autism Services

Child and Family Research Center | (205) 348-9133 | ryan029@ua.edu

https://sryan.people.ua.edu

Randall T. Salekin, Professor

352 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-6619 | rsalekin@ua.edu

http://rsalekin.people.ua.edu/

  • psychopathy
  • callous unemotional traits
  • treatment of psychopathy
  • treatment of interpersonal callousness

Lynn Snow, Professor

210 Osband Hall | (205) 348-3655 | lsnow@ua.edu

Beverly Thorn

Beverly E. Thorn, Professor Emeritus

417-D Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-5024 | bthorn@ua.edu

http://bthorn.people.ua.edu/

  • assessment and treatment of persistent painful conditions
  • health behaviors
  • living with chronic illness