Classification
Concentrations
Accepting Students

Joan Barth, Senior Research Social Scientist

ISSR | (205) 348-2851 | jbarth@ua.edu

http://issr.ua.edu/directory/dr-joan-barth/

  • social-emotional development
  • gender differences in science and math education experiences
  • adolescent risk behaviors
  • children's decision making skills
  • education contexts
  • neurocognitive development in young children

Sheila R. Black, Associate Professor

183 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-0613 | sblack@ua.edu

Jennifer Cox

Jennifer Cox, Assistant Professor

255-A Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-7908 | jennifer.m.cox@ua.edu

http://jmcox.people.ua.edu/

  • the interplay between psychological assessment and the legal system
  • conceptualization and assessment of psychopathic personality (psychopathy)
  • influence of psychological expert testimony on legal decision making
  • how legal decision makers understand and consider psychopathy evidence during the trial process

Craig Cummings, Clinical Assistant Professor

172-B Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-9936 | cwcummings@ua.edu

Philip Gable

Philip Gable, Associate Professor, Director of Experimental Programs

356-B Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-7028 | pgable@ua.edu

http://pgable.people.ua.edu/

  • emotional/social neuroscience
  • cognition-emotion interaction
  • EEG, EMG, reflex physiology
  • approach motivation, reward processing, motor preparation
  • attentional scope, memory, time perception

Ansley Gilpin

Ansley Tullos Gilpin, Associate Professor

192 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-9903 | agilpin@ua.edu

http://atullos.people.ua.edu/

  • fantasy orientation and pretend play
  • executive functions
  • school readiness
  • children's use of testimony (information from other people) to learn about the world
  • imaginary companions (mean and nice)
  • children's understanding of fantasy/reality,
  • development of religiosity
  • pretend play's role in early childhood intervention (ASD)

Andrea Glenn

Andrea Glenn, Assistant Professor

101-E McMillan Building | (205) 348-4340 | andrea.l.glenn@ua.edu

http://aglenn.people.ua.edu/

  • psychopathy
  • callous/unemotional traits in youth
  • biologically-based prevention and intervention
  • fMRI
  • hormones
  • morality
  • Neuroethics

Steve Groff, Instructor

Gordon Palmer 247A | (205) 348-5083 | sgroff@ua.edu

James Hamilton

James C. Hamilton, Associate Professor

375 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-0189 | jchamilt@ua.edu

http://jchamilt.people.ua.edu/

  • motivational explanations for excessive medical illness behavior
  • dynamics of the victim role
  • social psychology of death attitudes and death acceptance

Robert Lyman, Professor Emeritus, Instructor

Gordon Palmer 237A | (205) 348-5083 | robert.d.lyman@ua.edu

Debra McCallum, Director of ISSR, Director of the Capstone Poll, Senior Research Social Scientist

ISSR | (205) 348-3820 | dmccallu@ua.edu

http://issr.ua.edu/directory/debra-mccallum/

  • social influence
  • social-psychological aspects of health behavior and outcomes
  • safety and well-being of children and youth
  • evaluations of education
  • community intervention programs

Kristina McDonald

Kristina McDonald, Assistant Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

257AA Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-6320 | klmcdonald2@ua.edu

http://klmcdonald.people.ua.edu/

  • precursors and consequences for youth who endorse hostile social motivations
  • how friendship interactions may influence social cognitions
  • how social context (e.g., school diversity) may affect peer relationships
  • how physiological reactivity to social threat interacts with social cognitions to predict behavior

Ian M. McDonough, Assistant Professor

410-A Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-1168 | immcdonough@ua.edu

http://immcdonough.people.ua.edu/

  • episodic memory
  • intelligence
  • aging
  • structure and functional neuroimaging
  • dynamic fluctuations of brain activity
  • biomarkers of preclinical Alzheimer’s disease
  • intervention
  • Health Disparities

Edward Merrill, Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

195 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-1932 | emerrill@ua.edu

http://emerrill.people.ua.edu/

  • cognitive development
  • developmental disabilities
  • down syndrome and language
  • down syndrome and wayfinding
  • implicit cognition and decision making
  • sex differences in cognitive abilities

Pat Parmelee

Patricia A. Parmelee, Professor and Director of Alabama Research Institute on Aging

207 Osband Hall | (205) 348-1499 | pparmelee@ua.edu

http://aria.ua.edu/patricia-parmelee/

  • the interrelations of physical and mental health
  • quality of long-term care, and particularly staffing issues in residential care settings
  • interventions to support family caregivers

Sarah Ryan, Clinical Assistant Professor, UA-ACTS Program Director, Administrative Director of Autism Services

Child and Family Research Center | (205) 348-9133 | ryan029@ua.edu

https://sryan.people.ua.edu

Randall Salekin

Randall T. Salekin, Professor

352 Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-6619 | rsalekin@ua.edu

http://rsalekin.people.ua.edu/

  • psychopathy
  • callous unemotional traits
  • treatment of psychopathy
  • treatment of interpersonal callousness

Allison Scrivener-Limbaugh, Instructor

Russell Hall 208 | (205) 348-7083 | althomas2@ua.edu

Lynn Snow, Professor

210 Osband Hall | (205) 348-3655 | lsnow@ua.edu

Beverly Thorn

Beverly E. Thorn, Professor Emeritus

417-D Gordon Palmer Hall | (205) 348-5024 | bthorn@ua.edu

http://bthorn.people.ua.edu/

  • assessment and treatment of persistent painful conditions
  • health behaviors
  • living with chronic illness